Learning How to Swim: I have never thought I can do it!

For the record, I was already 27 when I earned how to swim. It will be best to start young, but it was never too late to start it when you are way older.

Here in Suriname, you have to travel more than 8 hours just to reach the bodies of the sea. So only pool resorts are the aids of learning how to swim. And only 1 was the nearest from where I stayed, @ Witte Lotus, Marowijne Straat. I grew up in a place where the sea is just 15 mins away, but never had the chance to learn how to do it.  Ironic isn’t it?

Well, that’s how life works. Maybe I was with wrong people to teach me how to do it.  Since I was working overseas, you tend to find activities that can be a little aid of homesickness & stress.  And swimming it is!

Because of my swimming buddies from Indonesia & Taiwan, I was able to manage how to control breathing, kick & paddle and a whole lot more. They were so patient with me. We go swimming every week ends. Well, it wasn’t a formal training, but it did help sooo much!

I’m sharing this experience not to brag about it ( ’cause there’s nothing to brag about my amateur swimming executions. lol )  but to show those people who are like, who was afraid to swim since existence. peace out guys! We can still do it at age 27! High Five!

Will keep posting swimming practices for more updates!

Learning How to Swim – week 1
This day was my 1st discovery that I was able to kick & paddle with out sinking from 3/4 side to side of the pool  ( 4 ft).

Learning How to Swim – week 2

Learning How to Swim – week 3

Learning How to Swim – week 4

Learning How to Swim – week 5

Leave a Reply

